American Expat.

The first place I ever lived in the UK, Richmond,  a place with beautiful views, and somewhere very near to my heart

By definition an expat is a person temporarily or permanently residing, as an immigrant, in a country other than that of their citizenship.

Coming onto my fourth year living in the United Kingdom there are two things I’ve always been very passionate about, traveling, and new experiences. I was lucky enough to have to come to London and study and its really come to feel like the place where I belong. For me growing up I didn’t fit in very well and had a few close friends. This is probably the biggest reason why it was so easy for me to pack up my whole like and move abroad. It’s not that I don’t miss home and all my friends in New York, I just longed for something different and new and that the idea of finding myself in another country was exciting. So thats exactly how I got to where I am today. Lately I’ve been feeling very nostalgic, missing my family and causal things that only an American would miss. Its probably because this week has been hectic with assignments, which I’m procrastinating doing right now as I write this. But the hardest about being from America and living anywhere abroad are all the misconceptions people have about our culture. Its frustrating when people think all Americans  eat loads or all of us are loud and arrogant. And being from New York I get all the typical questions about NYC and whats it like there, and each time I reply in the same way. If I had a pound for every time I get stopped or asked question about my nationality or accent I would be rich! Although at time I feel like the outsider London has welcomed me in way I didn’t think it and it just feels like a friendly city. Although all cities have their flaws.

 

Brittany x

 

 

Leave a Reply

